Classical Yoga Knowledge
What is OriginaL KUNDALINI YOGA ‎

Original kundalini yoga:  Its Origin and Practice.

Quotation Marks

Kundalini Yoga takes its focus on Kundalini awakening by concentrating the energy into chakras from Classical Tantra

Kundalini yoga origins in Classical Tantra and gained popularity in the Indian Subcontinent in the 1600s. Kundalini yoga emerged with the colonization of India by the Moghuls and the British Empire, and the effect on spiritual practice. Like Classical Tantra, Kundalini yoga involves the movement of chakra energy inside oneself, but it excludes the uniquely tantric aspects of practicing in the mirror of another person. Kundalini yoga is best practiced in isolation from the external environment, going deep inside oneself, and avoiding outside influences such as meat, garlic, chili, or wine that may raise heat and sexual energies. Unlike Classical Tantra, Kundalini yoga places the lower chakras at the base of the spine rather than in the sexual organs as is the case for Classicla tantra.

It should not be confused with the physical version invented by Yogi Bajan in the 1960s, which mixes elements of Kundalini yoga with Sikh religion and physical movements that were invented by the guru himself. Unlike Yogi Bajan’s practice, which focuses on raising the Kundalini energy, Original Kundalini yoga involves balancing the Kundalini energy to achieve safe awakening. Once you begin the journey of awakening your Kundalini energy your personality begins to change. You will feel more at peace and emotionally stable and you will be less influenced by other people’s projections and bad moods.

What are the chakras: Myth and reality!

Quotation Marks

Chakras do not exist in a real sense, it is an energy that we create inside our body.

The core practice of Kundalini yoga is Kriya yoga, which involves a set of meditative practices combined with mudras, locks, chants, visualizations, or movements. These Kriyas aim to concentrate energy into the chakras and awaken the Kundalini force. It’s important to note that chakras do not exist in a physical sense. Rather, they can be best understood as energy vortexes created in strategic places, resulting in a sensation of energy within the chakras. When your chakras awaken, it feels like the difference between still and bubbly water.

Although the commonly known chakra system today consists of 7 chakras, it’s worth mentioning that there are other systems with 11, 14, and 21 chakras respectively. The specific location of the chakras depends on the purpose of the practice. In Classical Tantra, the chakras above the head are seen as central to the practice as they activate the meditative centers. Due to the Western focus on the physical body, the 7 chakra system has become the most famous and widely recognized. At Yogi Living, we also explore different chakra systems in our teachings.

The Practice of Kundalini Yoga

Quotation Marks

When the Kundalini Energy awakens your life changes. You will be less prone to fears and negative feelings and more prone to find inner bliss 

Kundalini yoga is traditionally associated with Hatha Yoga. At Yogi Living, we offer teachings in Hatha yoga with a specific focus on the chakras and utilize sun salutation as a meditation and kriya yoga. Uniquely, our daily practice includes instruction in the Tibetan Kundalini Rites, which combine movement and meditation. These practices serve as a protective shield against negative energy in your everyday life.

Our aim at Yogi Living is to empower individuals who are seeking to transform their lives by initiating inner change. Through the practice of Kundalini yoga, we guide our students toward finding balance in their body, heart, and mind. Daily practice of Kundalini Kriya yoga sets you on the path towards Kundalini awakening, which is a transformative experience for many.

Feel free to ask any question you may have 🙂


Winnie Winnetu Yoga Teacher | Yogi Living Ashram
Winnie Winnetu Signature


The link to this page is not active.

The page is currently on vacation but will be back again soon.

Click here to see the blog index.

Boots In The Sand | Yogi Living Ashram